Build Up: SCASA National Qualifiers to compete for top spots

Friday, 16 February, 2024

The SCASA National Coffee Competitions take place at HOSTEX 2024 from 3-5 March in Johannesburg.

HOSTEX will see a buzz of activity and excitement as coffee professionals gather from across the country to determine the next SCASA National Coffee Champions. Through the three days we will see the semi-finals and finals in three disciplines: Barista Championship, Latte Art and Cup Tasters.

There were four Regional Heats building up to this point. Gauteng, Central (encompassing Free State, North West, EC), Western Cape and KwaZulu Natal. The number of qualifiers per region was determined by the number of competitors that took part. * indicates Heat Champions.

It is free to register and come support at HOSTEX 2024! The winners of these three disciplines will represent South Africa on the world stage at the below locations:

World Cup Tasters Championship: Specialty Coffee Expo, Chicago, 12-14 April 2024

World Barista Championships: World of Coffee, Busan, 1-4 May 2024

World Latte Art Championship: World of Coffee, Copenhagen, 27-29 June 2024

Barista Championship Qualifiers

Baristas are required to present 4 espressos, 4 milk based beverages and 4 signature beverages to the panel of judges in 15 minutes.

*Stevo Kuhn - Central

Retha van Rhijn - Central

*Fanie Botes - KZN

Luhle Mnyandu - KZN

*Olwethu Silo - WC

Tsepo Penduka - WC

*Trevor Fitz - GP

Harry Mole - GP

Christiaan Jacobs - GP

Munashi Gumbo - GP

Caswell Chabuda - GP

Zinhle Mogoto - GP

Esther van Rensburg - Central

Kayla Sampson - Central

Marius Schnettler - Central

Luke Letts - Central

Latte Art Qualifiers

Baristas are required to present 6 cups (3 different designs) to the panel of judges in 10 minutes.

*Jeff Stopforth - KZN

Vincent Majola - KZN

*Yandisa Ntshitshongo - GP

Watiko Mithi - GP

Jackson Mukhovi - GP

Sabelo Mawonga - GP

*Christopher Abrahams - WC

Rodney Swartz - WC

Bakhe Bathandwa - WC

Deion Munjaja - WC

Dennis Forichi - WC

Phillip Otuke - WC

Tsela Ramafolo - Central

Cup Tasters Qualifiers

Coffee professionals are required to select the 'odd one out' in 8 sets of 3 cups each in 8 minutes. Highest score wins. In the case of a tie, fastest time wins.

*Themba Ndlovu - KZN

Fanie Botes - KZN

*Ishan Natalie - GP

Thabang Maluleka - GP

Stehan Strauss - GP

Alpheus Montsho - GP

Shaun Aupiais - GP

Jonathan le Roux - GP

Leigh Wentzel - WC

*Andre Blignaut - WC

Shannen Mackay - WC

Martin Greyvenstein - WC

Olwethu Silo - WC

*Kayla Sampson - Central

Retha van Rhijn - Central

Daniela Toth - Central

Maryke Schoonwinkel - Central

Theressa Glover - Central

Pieter Schoonwinkel - Central

Got something to say? Then leave a comment!